The Monikins: A Tale James Fenimore Cooper (First Edition)

Every trail has its end, and every calamity brings its lesson!”
― James Fenimore Cooper, The Last of the Mohicans

Published anonymously as “By the Author of ‘The Spy,’ ‘The Pilot,’ &c.” First edition. Three volumes. Quarter brown leather, elaborate gilt decorations on spine, all edges marbled, and endpapers. A handsome triple-decker. Not issued in dust jacket.

James Fenimore Cooper is an American author and historian best known for his iconic work The Last of the Mohicans. Ahead of his time, Cooper’s inclusion of African-American and Native American characters was innovative in and of itself, but the fact that his narratives presented these people with dynamic traits beyond savagery and barbarism, was commendable. His inclusivity was far from perfect, but with characters such as the heroic chief of the Mohicans Chingachgook, he was taking a step in the right direction.

Cooper was a celebrated author who in 1940 was commemorated among great intellectuals of the time including authors Ralph Waldo Emerson and Samuel Clemens (Mark Twain), in the U.S. Postal Service’s Famous American Series collection of stamps. The New York Writers Hall of Fame honored Cooper with his induction in 2013.

 Buy Now

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s